Brandy Snap!

I know I said I wouldn’t be able to do a lot of baking posts because we’re having an extension and then I posted half a dozen kitchen-related topics but I promise we are having an exciting extension! I spent what seemed like an entire week in the kitchen baking things I’d never tried before so I would have things to continue posting about!… Clever I know!

I imagined that making brandy snaps would be difficult, and maybe it’s because I’m technically a ‘professional’ baker (I bake cakes… just cakes. All my experimentations are strictly armature in the comfort of my own kitchen) but I really didn’t find them difficult at all!

What you will need:

A large flat baking tray

Grease proof paper

4 glasses (or something to shape your brandy snaps to)

Brandy_Snap_1

100g plain flour

2 tsp ginger powder

100g butter

100g brown sugar

2 tbsp golden syrup

½ tbsp choice brandy

Begin by weighing your butter, brown sugar and golden syrup into a pan and place on a low heat.

Brandy_Snap_2

Whilst the butter syrup mixture begins to melt sieve the flour and ginger powder into a mixing bowl.

Once the butter has melted bring the heat up a touch to a medium intensity and stir the mixture until the sugar has dissolved. Once the sugar has dissolved turn the heat up again.

As soon as the mixture begins to boil remove from the heat and stir in the brandy

Brandy_Snap_4 Brandy_Snap_5Brandy_Snap_6

Pour the mixture into your mixing bowl and fold in the flour until well combined. Leave to cool for 20 minutes or so.

Brandy_Snap_7

Pre-heat your oven to 180oc.

Cut a piece of grease-proof paper the size of your baking tray then cut that sheet into quarters. You need to allow the mixture to spread quite wide in the oven so if you only have a small tray do one or two at a time. I did four.

Brandy_Snap_9

Take a small spoonful of the mixture (in between a tea and table-spoon size) and place it into the middle of a piece of the grease proof paper, pressing down gently to spread the mixture out a little.

Bake the brandy snaps in the oven for 6-8 minutes (keep your eye on them as they burn very easily) onces they’re a dark golden colour remove them from the oven and leave for a couple of minutes.

Gently pick up one of the brandy snap weaves and shape over an upside down glass, or rolling pin. I made cones and ‘cigars’ with mine.

Brandy_Snap_10

Once the baskets have cooled they should be crunchy and crisp to eat!

 

A couple of little extras, I kept my mixture in the fridge and only used it as and when. There’s no need to bring it back to room temperature just roll a ball around in your palms and press down onto your baking tray.

Other methods involve only softening the butter and just combining the ingredients with an electric mixer but I’ve not had chance to test this recipe with that particular method so if you have any such luck do let me know!

 I’m also fairly certain you can use Gluten-free flour! But again, I’m yet to try it out!

And here are some pictures of the extension mid-destruction!

Kitchen_extension_1 Kitchen_extension_2

Leave a Reply

