I love PIZZA!

Origional post on my Baking Blog: http://whatyougotcooking.wordpress.com/2015/01/01/i-love-pizza/

I’ve already posted a pizza blog: http://whatyougotcooking.wordpress.com/2014/07/15/pizza-cones/

But this pizza recipe was soooooo good I needed to write endlessy about it.

I decided to make a pizza with the twists on the outside like a tare’n’share since there seem to be a lot of people posting YouTube videos of tutorials (especially that sweet chocolate spread one) and it looked pretty easy.

IMG_6011

It was.

I took a recipe from Jamie Oliver for deep pan pizza dough but had a dabble and changed a few thing. the results were positive.

Jamie Oliver’s Recipe

1kg Strong White Bread Flour

650ml Lukewarm Water

1 Sachet of dried Yeast (7g)

1 tbsp. Golden Caster Sugar

1 level tbsp. Fine Sea Salt

My Recipe (doesn’t differ very much)

500g Strong Whiter Bread Flour

300ml Lukewarm Water

1 Sachet of dried Yeast (I actually used the Dried Active Yeast (DAY) that you buy in 125g tins you store in the fridge, the most common yeast used for home backing is the Easy Bake (EB) in the pale green Allinsons tin, I’ll explain the activation process in the method to this recipe)

1 tbsp. Golden Caster Sugar (Use caster if you don’t have golden, I don’t keep it in my pantry but my mum uses golden caster for tea and coffee’s)

1 tsp. Table Salt (I’m sorry Mr Oliver but plain ordinary table salt will do for me)

1 tbsp. Softened Butter

Please note if you follow Jamie’s recipe you will end up with twice as much dough, either half the recipe or make more pizza! The latter definitely sounds more appealing.

Jamie Oliver’s method is very user friendly- no assumption that you have a standalone electric mixer to do all the hard work for you, just get stuck in and get your hands dirty. I’m still getting excited about my new standalone electric mixer so I made my dough in the mixer- shoot me if you must! This is a dough so those using the mixer, use your dough hooks.

Combine the Yeast and Sugar with the lukewarm Water (Jamie’s recipe also includes the salt but I avoid putting salt near any kind of yeast especially the Dried Active stuff) and stir with a fork to well disperse the yeast. With DAY I always leave the yeast to activate, it doesn’t take long, 10-15 minutes, but it will ensure the yeast gets to work when the flour is added. It also means that if the water is too hot (or cold) then the yeast wont activate and this will be obvious so you can restart before you waste all the time kneading and proving. If you’re using the Easy Bake Yeast you don’t have to wait at all just get straight on with the recipe.

the yeast will be activated when you see foam on the surface of the water

Start adding the flour a spoon full at a time, if you’re getting stuck in and not using a mixer continue to use the fork until the dough becomes too stiff then its time to get those hands working!

IMG_5955IMG_5956IMG_5958

Once all the flour has been incorporated turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface (or crank up the speed on your mixer) add the softened butter (if you’re following my recipe) and start to knead the dough. Jamie is very unspecific about the amount of time taken to knead the dough ‘When You’re happy with the consistence…’  I’d say 5 if not 10 minutes of sturdy kneading by hand (at least 5 minutes on high speed for those of you using a mixer)

IMG_5975

Pop your dough into a large mixing bowl, I lightly oiled my bowl, I always do with dough, but Jamie floured his. I don’t think there’s a right option but of course Jamie gets paid to produce recipes, I don’t. Leave to raise for 60-90 minutes or until at least doubled in size.

IMG_5985

IMG_5987IMG_5988

Once the dough has risen remove from the bowl onto a lightly floured surface, Pre heat your oven to 200oc (fan assist, adjust according to your oven specifications), cut into quarters and start stretching out each base. I literally stretched the dough out by hand, use a rolling pin if you like, it will try to shrink back as you stretch so be persistent.

IMG_5990IMG_5992IMG_5993IMG_5994IMG_5995IMG_5996

I made my bases about 8″ wide (and more impressively… round!). When the first was ready I put it onto a tray, added the sauce (my recipe is below) then stretched the next one out and put it directly on top, continue this way until all the layers are stretched out but don’t spread your sauce on the top layer.

IMG_5998IMG_5999

Take a small glass or round tub and place it in the centre of the layered pizza, cut down the layers starting at 6 o’clock then 3, 12 and 9 (I mean you don’t have to start at 6 but I figured it was easier to start facing you) then add all the other digits on the clock (cut each quarter into 3 by making two more cuts) remove the glass.

IMG_6001IMG_6002

IMG_6003IMG_6005

Take each piece and twist it twice around itself then put back down on the tray, once you’ve completed all 12 you can then pinch 2 together to make the pizza look a bit like a flower, if you’d rather just have the 12 twists for people to tear skip this step. Cover with Clingfilm or in a plastic bag and leave for 20-30 minutes to prove. The dough will just about double in size. Pop a bit more sauce on the centre of the pizza and add cheese. I used Mozzarella (the one that comes in a ball bathing in some sort of salt water) but literally any cheese you like.

IMG_6006IMG_6007IMG_6008

Bake in the oven for 30-40 minutes depending on size.

IMG_6010IMG_6012IMG_6013

And oh my gosh please try to wait for it to cool down before you dig in. I burnt my fingers, mouth and tongue in haste.

Its also good cold so if you’re having a dinner party, or just a party, you can make it ahead of time and leave it out for people to nibble on.

Sauce Recipe:

1 red onion

1 white onion

2 cloves of garlic (because I love garlic!)

400g carton of chopped tomatoes
chop your onion and garlic up. cook off the onions in a tablespoon of olive oil, add garlic then add chopped tomatoes and leave to simmer and reduce down. season as you wish

IMG_5972IMG_5973IMG_5976IMG_5977

Next on my pizza check list. Pizza Cake!

HNY

x

Leave a Reply

